Williams College

Williamstown, MA · Town (fringe)

AskSchool #25 of 300Private nonprofitLiberal arts collegeTest optional
Acceptance rate
8.3%
Most recent year reported
Average net price
$17,716
Sticker price $84,860
Graduation rate
94%
Within 6 years
Median earnings
$88,665
10 years after starting

Admissions

Acceptance rate (most recent year)
8.3%
Applicants (fall 2023)
11,465
Admitted (fall 2023)
1,145
Enrolled freshmen (fall 2023)
541
Yield (admitted who enroll)
47%
Acceptance rate – women (fall 2023)
10%
Acceptance rate – men (fall 2023)
10.0%
SAT reading, middle 50%
740–780
SAT math, middle 50%
750–790
ACT composite, middle 50%
34–35
Enrollees who sent SAT / ACT
42% / 18%

Source: IPEDS Admissions survey, fall 2023 entering class; test ranges and rate from U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

What they look at

High school GPA
considered
High school class rank
considered
High school record (transcript)
required
College-prep program completed
required
Recommendations
required
Demonstration of competencies
considered
SAT/ACT scores
considered
English proficiency test (TOEFL etc.)
considered
Other test
considered
Work experience
considered
Personal statement or essay
required
Legacy status
considered

“Considered” means the college uses it if you submit it, but it isn’t required.

Source: IPEDS Admissions survey, fall 2023 entering class

What families actually pay

Average yearly net price (after grants and scholarships) for first-time, full-time students who got aid, by family income.

Family income $0–30knot reported
Family income $30–48knot reported
Family income $48–75knot reported
Family income $75–110k$3,030
Family income $110k+$49,594
Full sticker price (per year)
$84,860
Tuition & fees – in-state
$68,560
Tuition & fees – out-of-state
$68,560
Median debt at graduation
$12,761
Students with federal loans
4.8%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Outcomes

Graduate within 6 years
94%
Freshmen who return for year 2
97%
Median earnings, 1 year after graduating
$47,778
Median earnings, 10 years after starting
$88,665

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Students & campus

Undergraduates
2,076
Graduate students
49
Student-to-faculty ratio
6 : 1
Women
52%
Students receiving Pell grants
18%
Full-time faculty
88%

Undergraduate diversity

White47%
Hispanic14%
Asian12%
International8.8%
Two or more7.5%
Black6.1%
Unknown4.3%
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Most popular majors

Social Sciences24%
Computer & Information Sciences11%
Visual & Performing Arts9.4%
Biology & Biomedical Sciences8.0%
Physical Sciences7.6%
English7.1%
Mathematics & Statistics7.1%
Psychology6.8%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release) (share of bachelor’s degrees awarded)

Contacts & links

President
Maud S. Mandel
Main phone
(413) 597-3131
Address
880 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267

Source: IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, 2024–25

How to apply (2026–27)

PlanApply byDecision
Early Decision (binding)November 15December 14
Regular DecisionJanuary 4April 1
Apply with
Common App, Coalition/Scoir, QuestBridge
Application fee
$65 (waivers available)
SAT/ACT
Optional
Recommendations
1 counselor + 2 teachers
Interview
not offered

Testing: Test optional; SAT/ACT superscored

Financial aid policies

  • Need-blind for U.S. applicants
  • Meets 100% of demonstrated need
  • No-loan financial aid
  • CSS Profile required (plus FAFSA)
  • Merit scholarships: No merit scholarships; need-based aid only
  • Free tuition for families earning $200K or less (typical assets); no work-study expectation

Early rounds & waitlist (2025-2026)

Early Decision admit rate
26.6% (256 of 964)
Waitlist: offered / accepted / admitted
2,193 / 850 / 25

Source: the college’s official website and Common Data Set 2025-2026: williams.edu, williams.edu, williams.edu, williams.edu. Dates can change, so always confirm on the college’s site.